Uncategorized

HairFix Hair Coloring Shampoo in Platinum Blond

If you have been lurking around this blog, reading some of my posts, you would know that I’m a fond of drugstore hair essentials. Cheap — But of course, reasonable quality and effectiveness.

I’ve been buying HairFix coloring Shampoos since it popped out the shelves (similar to the packaging of GlamWorks hair coloring shampoo, and they are always on display side-by-side) using color: Black. You know, “in case of emergency” from the (1) college’s hair color policy to (2) bleaching-gone-wrong.

So what’s up with this:

Platinum Blond? Whoa. First thing that came into mind was: blond for less than a hundred in one sachet(?!), I was thinking of all-in-one-bleach-in-a-sachet. Boy, I was wrong.

I got my eyes on it since late last year when I first saw it. Never got the chance to buy it (I don’t even have time to sleep, much less change the color of my hair)  until yesterday, May 13.

I wish I have photos of my hair before and after using this but it barely did anything drastic to my hair color, so there’s nothing to show you guyz, but I would like to explain why it didn’t do what I think it was going to do: which is lifting your hair color and toning it.

Theory 1: It’s just a toner. I may have to compare this with my Wella T18 Toner through ingredients —

Theory 2: You need packets and packets of this to make it work. Maybe it has a very minimal effect that our naked eyes can not see. And to try it out for a hundred times would damage your scalp in the process but…

Theory 3: …it will still not work. Maybe it’s just in the shelves for the profit and the consumers doesn’t get anything in return.

Update — January 12, 2016

I just (re)bleached my hair last Sunday using Ion Color Brilliance Hi-Lift. Unfortunately, I have Badjeje hair on top of my head because of my roots which only lifted up to level 4. I’m planning to try out this product and give it a try once again.

I will document it this time and I will keep you posted guys, wait up for the weekend! 😪

Update — January 19, 2016

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Before and After

Standard

11 thoughts on “HairFix Hair Coloring Shampoo in Platinum Blond

    • Hello! Thanks for the comment. I bleached my hair first with the usual bleach powder and developer (once) then I used this. Apparently, it did nothing noticeable. I think it’s for canceling out the brassiness, so you should bleach your hair to the lightest shade.

  1. Hello Mai! It did not lighten a bit. It has a note though, that your hair should be pre-lightened. I think you should bleach your hair to a level 8 – 10 first before you apply this because I assume it should be for toning hair.

  2. Micah says:

    Hi! If my hair was black and I used this hair colouring shampoo, would you recommend this product for me? 🙂 um, I’m thinking about doing my own highlights ng hair eh. So, would you stull recommend this for me or should I go to the salon?

    • Hi Micah! Sorry I can’t get back at you right away. Don’t use it on Black hair, guys. It would barely do a thing. It works on already light hair (as per the caution on the product.) I think you can do mild bleaching on selected streaks if you want to DIY. But if you have the money to spend for it, I suggest that you go to your nearest trusted salon.

  3. I have used the Rich Auburn (pleases check out my review on amazingmimi.blogspot.com) and the color started to work after a couple of days. I liked the effect of it so when I became a blonde, I decided to use the Platinum Blonde for retouch because it was so easy to apply but it did not make any difference on the roots nor on my entire hair. I used 2 sachets though I only have a shoulder length hair and after about 3 days, that’s when I noticed some strands actually became platinum blonde.

  4. Gelle says:

    Waaaaah ! Hi 🙂 I’m trying to dye my hair with this color and sadly my hair is black ;-;
    And I saw this product and it says it lasts for about 10 weeks, And it’s great since it’s sorta temporary. Any suggestion on how this will work on me ? Thanks ! And great review !

    • Thank you for reading my posts! The only sensible way I see for this hair color to produce visible result is to bleach your hair. Maybe twice. Always use caution when using bleach and any other hair product. Share your experience after you tried it out and let me know how it worked for you. Good luck!

  5. Cate says:

    Awesome review! My hair is between level 7 and 8, and I’m on a budget so I’ve been using DIY toners for a while. Would this coloring shampoo cover some of the brassiness of my blonde hair? Thanks! 🙂

    • Hi Cate! Honestly, I would not recommend using this at all. I prefer investing on Purple Shampoos if I am to maintain a blonde hair. Still, it’s up to you if you want to give this a try. And if you do, I would like to see the results! Goodluck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

