Hair bleaching, Hair Timeline

Hair Chronicles: Bleaching Hair for the nth Time Around

Here I am again… Hope ma momma won’t nag me coz o’ this.

First bleach! Using Hortaleza Professional hair bleach powder and 12% (Vol. 40) Oxidizing Lotion:Got these from HBC Robinsons Imus. The sale attendant says that you need 2 packets of bleach per bottle of the oxidizing lotion… which I don’t believe. It’s usually 1 bleach: 2 oxidant. But I just ended up using 1.25 bottle(s) of oxidizing lotion on a single packet. I got all of these for PhP 160.00. So expensive. 

Photos of my hair before first bleaching:    Just a little story behind this: so I was cramming all the boards I need for my thesis presentation and I’m working at someone else’s place. Now, I’ve got only a few days left before the day of presentation and I need to color my hair back to BLACK because I was given a warning from the dean’s office (or our SWDB) that I may not be allowed to defend my work if I have the unnatural hair color I am sporting, because it’s against the hair color policy. I need to drop by my place in Cavite (from Quezon City — thank you to my wonderful someone who drove me to and back from Cavite!) to fetch the things I need for the thesis presentation.

I asked my sister to buy me the cheapest Black hair dye she could find at the drugstore. And what she got is this Henna hair coloring powder that made my hair extremely dry. Halfway through the process (I colored my hair right away when we got back) I realized that 2 packets is not enough to cover my entire head. I had no choice but to let the remaining dye work which smells really awful, by the way, like fish. That incident left sections of brown hair on the left part of my head. That was in April 5, ~1.5 months ago.

Anyway, I haven’t washed my hair with shampoo for 2 days in preparation for the first bleaching.  Put on vaseline around my face, behind the ears, and the nape. Some of the bleach went the wrong way and dripped off my back — it stings. Left it on my hair for about 30 minutes.

Here’s a lot of selfies:   
        

Side by side comparison:I was itching to bleach my hair right after the first one because I have ratchet hair!

Aaaaaaaaaaand so I did, the next day: Using Cruset Hair Colouring Cream in Golden Blonde. The box doesn’t contain a leaflet, although the instructions are the box. It comes with the hair colour tube, 12% (Vol. 40) Developer, and gloves.     Poured in all the contents of the tube and developer in the bowl. Mixed it well and asked my cousin to slap it on my head, concentrating on the darker parts first.

After about 35 minutes:It made my hair lighter, but not lifted it that much. Maybe because it’s Golden Blond, and it has a pigment in it, I’m not sure. Thanks to the one who helped me with this, my hair became more even.

And, of course, here’s a side-by-side comparison:At this point, I’ve got massive breakage at the ends of my hair. I gave it a rest for 5 days, with deep conditioning, Olive Oil, and no shampoo.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Hair Chronicles: Bleaching Hair for the nth Time Around

Leave a Reply

